Musicians and Staff

Photo of Chris Wilhjelm

Dr. Christian Wilhjelm – Conductor and Music Director

Dr. Christian Wilhjelm has been the Conductor and Music Director of the New Jersey Wind Symphony (formerly the Ridgewood Concert Band) since it’s founding in 1983. Under his direction, the NJWS has become widely recognized as one of the leading wind orchestras in the nation.

Dr. Wilhjelm graduated from the New England Conservatory where he studied with Harry Shapiro of the Boston Symphony. He was the principal hornist with the Conservatory Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Gunther Schuller and the Conservatory Wind Ensemble under the direction of Frank Battisti. While a student, he spent three summers performing in the Fellowship Orchestra at Tanglewood where he had the distinction of being named a Leonard Bernstein Fellow. He received a Master of Music degree from The College of New Jersey and a Doctor of Education degree from Teachers’ College, Columbia University.

Read More


Max Taylor*

Chrysten Angderson
Patricia Barlow
Jill Bloom
Lisandra Hernandez
Annette Lieb
Emma Morris
David Stedge
Kristin Bacchiocchi-Stewart*
Tomomi Takamoto
Jennifer Thornton
Jennifer Wise

Emily Douglas
Ruth Diamond Fabes
Robert LeClair*

Aly Berkowitz
Robert Gray
Jason Stier*

Robert Gray

Jeffery Bittner
Suzanne Coletta
Naomi Freshwater
Robert Leet
Laurie Kunzle
Lyn Lowndes
Joe Mariany
Natalie McCarter
Marcie Phelan
Jean Roughgarden
Beth Seavers
Neil Sheehan
Karen Summers
Richard Summers*
Sabrina Tempesta
Janet Vidovich

E Flat Clarinet
Sabrina Tempesta

Bass Clarinets
Brendan Hughes
Joel Kolk*
Lynne Montella

Soprano Saxophone
Ryan Mantell

Alto Saxophone
Ryan Mantell*
Dawn Russo
Matthew Salisbury
Jacqueline Sarracco
Alissa Settembrino

Tenor Saxophone
Andre Baruch
Lisa Freitas
Thomas Wise

Baritone Saxophone
Michael DePompeo


Dave Bychek
Mike Connor
Ryan Dore
David Hurd
Tamara McLaughlin
Daniel Osorio
Richard Roberts
Michael Russo
Thomas Siebenhuhner
Ann Sirinides
Tony Spinuzzi
Joseph Stella
Roger Widicus*

French Horns
John Harley
Joshua Jenkins
Carolyn Kirby*
Collette Mather
Brian McLaughlin
Bryan Meyer
Deloss Schertz
Samantha Slackbower

Tom Abbate
Lee Anderson
Noreen Baer
Matt Blauvelt
Stephanie Dutcher
Keith Marson
Rob Paustian
Nathaniel Rensink
Kristen Siebenhuhner
Robert Tiedemann*

Robyn Keyes
John Palatucci*
Donald Van Teyens

Mike Gould
Robert Sacchi*

Percussion, Keyboard and Strings

Ross Chu
Ryan Jaccoi
Adrienne Ostrander
Wesley Ostrander
Mike Sasson
Luke Short
Yuto Takamoto
Chris Tarantino
Mark Zettler*

Irene Bressler

Don Dean
Alison Meyer

String Bass
Steve Freides
David Marks

Staff and Volunteers

Associate Conductors
John Palatucci
Richard Summers

Lisandra Hernandez

Personnel Coordinator
Richard Summers

Marketing Manager
Beth Seavers

House Manager
Lisandra Hernandez

Andy Lieb

Program Layout
Beth Seavers

Ticket Office
John Butler
Darel DePompeo
Sylvia Devries
Paul Kirby
Debbie Levenson
Keiji Takamoto
Nancy Zwell

Youth Soloist Representatives
Michael Connor
Laurie Kunzle

Side By Side Concert Representatives
Michael Connor
Laurie Kunzle

Stage Manager
Tony Spinuzzi