Soloists and Guests

The New Jersey Wind Symphony consistently attracts some of the finest solo artists, nationally and internationally recognized guest conductors, and university wind ensembles. These artists express appreciation for the exceptional musicianship in the New Jersey Wind Symphony. It is our honor and privilege to have collaborated with the accomplished professionals and exceptional ensembles listed below.


Joseph Alessi – Principal Trombone, New York Philharmonic
Mary Ann Archer – Flute/Piccolo, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra
Alan Baer -Principal Tuba, New York Philharmonic
Donald Batchelder – Principal Trumpet, New York City Opera Orchestra
Jeffrey Biegel – Piano Soloist
Blair Bollinger – Bass trombonist, Philadelphia Orchestra
Robert Bonfiglio – Virtuoso Harmonicist
Scott Brubaker – Horn, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra
Vincent Carr – Organist, Cathedral Basilica of the Sacred Heart
Paul Cohen – Saxophone, Oberlin Conservatory, Manhattan School of Music
Warren Deck – Principal Tuba, New York Philharmonic
Hans de Jong – Saxophone
Jennifer Del Rio – Cabaret Singer and Miss USO 2001
Elaine Douvas – Principal Oboe, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra
John Ferrillo – Principal Oboe Boston Symphony
David Fedor – Cathedral Basilica of the Sacred Heart
Jason Ham – Euphonium , US Military Academy Band, West Point
Scott Hartman -Trombone – Instructor, Yale University School of Music
James D. Hicks – The Presbyterian Church in Morristown
Chris Jaudes – Leading Broadway Trumpeter
Gary Kirkpatrick – Piano, Professor William Paterson University
L. William Kuyper – Assistant Principal Horn, New York Philharmonic
Christopher S. Lamb – Principal Percussionist, New York Philharmonic
Ron Levy – Piano, Palisades Virtuosi
Kim Laskowski – Associate Principal Bassoon, New York Philharmonic
Christopher Martin – Principal Trumpet, New York Philharmonic
Master Sergeant MaryKay Messenger – Soprano
John J. Miller -Cathedral Basilica of the Sacred Heart

Martha Mooke – Electric Viola
Kristen Plumley – Soprano
Jennifer Montone – Principal Horn, Philadelphia Orchestra
Philip Myers – Principal Horn, New York Philharmonic
Harvey Phillips – Tuba Virtuoso, Distinguished Professor Indiana University
Anthony Plog – Trumpet soloist, composer, Summit Brass
John Palatucci – Music Director, Orpheus Club Men’s Chorus, Euphonium Soloist, The Goldman Memorial Band
Michael Parloff – Principal Flute, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra
Bucky Pizzarelli – Jazz Guitarist
Diana Powers Rettie- Flute
Rufus Reid – Jazz Bassist
Carol Rodland – Professor of Viola, New England Conservatory of Music
Catherine Rodland – Organist
Joanne Harris Rodland – Organist, West Side Presbyterian Church
John R. Rodland – Organist, West Side Presbyterian Church
Ronald Romm – Trumpet, Canadian Brass
Sergio Salvatore – Jazz Piano
Philip Smith – Principal Trumpet, New York Philharmonic
Sheryl Staples – Principal Associate Concertmaster, New York Philharmonic
Leelanee Sterret – Acting Associate Principal Horn, New York Philharmonic
Caroline Stinson – Cello
Richard Summers – Principal Clarinet, New Jersey Wind Symphony
Kenneth Tse – Saxophone
Henk van Twillert – Baritone Saxophone
Paul Van Ness – Piano
Lois Hicks-Wozniak – Principal Saxophone, New Jersey Wind Symphony

Guest Ensembles

Guest Conductors/Narrators

Frank Battisti – Conductor Emeritus, New England Conservatory Wind Ensemble
Lewis Buckley – Artistic Director – Metropolitan Wind Symphony
Dr. William Berz – Director of Bands, Rutgers University
Darryl Bott – Director, Rutgers University Symphonic Winds
Keith Brion – Conductor, New Sousa Band, Seattle Symphony
Col. Michael J. Colburn – Director, United States Marine Corp Band, The President’s Own
Richard Floyd – Music Director – Austin Symphonic Band
Col. Timothy Foley – Director US Marine Band, The President’s Own
Col. Arnald Gabriel – Conductor Emeritus, The United States Air Force Band
Lt. Col. Timothy J. Holton – Colonel and Director of the US Army Field Band
Karel Husa – Composer, Conductor

LTC James Keene – Director United States Military Academy Band, West Point
James Keene – Director, University of Illinois
Edward Lisk – Conductor, Clinician
Dr. Thomas McCauley – Director of Bands Montclair State University
Johan de Meij – Composer, Conductor
Stephen Rosenhaus – Conductor, Composer
Loras Schissel – Director, Blossom Festival Band, Grand Military Band of Virginia
Gene Shalit – CBS radio
Col. L. Bryan Shelburne, Jr – Director, The U.S. Army Band, Pershing’s Own
Dr. Myron Welch – Director, University of Iowa Wind Symphony